Skip to Main Content
 

About

The AAIWG brings a multidisciplinary approach to prevention, intervention, and response to active assailant incidents and overall public safety and emergency management planning.  This collaborative effort helps to ensure the safety, security, and resiliency of Maryland’s diverse communities extending from the Eastern Shore to Western Maryland.  The AAIWG emphasizes a “whole community approach” to public safety, which is defined by FEMA as “a means by which residents, emergency management practitioners, organizational and community leaders, and government officials can collectively understand and assess the needs of their respective communities and determine the best ways to organize and strengthen their assets, capabilities, and interests.”

Goals

The AAIWG established a Charter and Work Plan to implement its work objectives outlined in Executive Order 01.01.2018.08.  The Charter and Work Plan are living documents that may be updated as needed to serve the overall objectives outlined in the Executive Order.  Highlights of the work include:

  • Enhanced information-sharing and communication protocols and procedures.
  • Identifying, collecting, and enhancing best practices.
  • Providing guidance on prevention, planning, training, and response to stakeholders.
  • Consulting with stakeholders on guidance, updates, emergency plans, and procedures.

Subcommittees

Photograph of subcommittee member at electronic whiteboard brainstorming ideas with the members.

 

The AAIWG recognizes the breadth and scope of its work requires the integration of additional subject-matter experts beyond the work group’s membership.  To this end, the AAIWG includes the following subcommittees, which include additional participants beyond those included in the main workgroup:

Subcommittee Name Chair Contact Information
Website Karl Burnett, Prince George’s County Sheriff’s Office kmburnett@co.pg.md.us
Community Outreach Rebecca Allyn, Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth & Victim Services rebecca.allyn@maryland.gov
Emergency People Search & Recovery Bethany Brown, MDHS bethany.brown@maryland.gov
First Responder Guidelines

Scott Haas, Queen Anne Co. DES

Jerry Immler, MDEM

shaas@qac.org

jerry.immler@maryland.gov

Symposium

Dawn Luedtke, OAG

Mark Klinger, MDSP

dawn.luedtke@maryland.gov

mark.klinger@maryland.gov

The Subcommittees convene on an as-needed basis to complete their work.  For additional information related to the Subcommittees, please contact the Chairs as referenced above.